Works for Me Wed. – Cooking Beef Ahead

wfmwsmall.jpg

So two weeks ago I had a baby.  It was not on Wed. but none the less since I am on maternity leave and can not paint the walls yet again I have been on an organizing and take things to Goodwill kick.  It started with maternity clothes and I am finding just a ton of stuff that I still can not believe I have after all this time.

So in my organizing mode I have been able to plan a little ahead and get some home cooked dinners together each night.  So my Works for Me Wednesday helpful hint is planning ahead with some cooked beef you keep in the fridge.  Hubby first started it a week ago or so and I remember my dad doing it when I was a kid.  You basically buy 3-4 pounds of whatever ground beef grade you like and cook it all at once with some salt and pepper and store it in some tupperware in the fridge.  Then when you might be scrambling to come up with a dinner any evening you have half your work done already. 

This same concept could work with chicken too.  So far we have had stroganoff, spaghetti, and tonight some goulash all with this cooked ahead meat.

For other Works for Me Wednesday check out Rocks in My Dryer.

1 Comment

Filed under WFMW

One response to “Works for Me Wed. – Cooking Beef Ahead

  1. This is one of my favorite tips as well. I love to stock up on beef when it’s on sale and freeze some and cook the rest (then freeze it as well).

    Congratulations on the new baby!

    Duckabush Blog

Leave a Reply

